by FariedaMay 13, 2019

MAMELODI Sundowns have successfully defended their Absa Premiership title after securing a 1-0 win over relegated Free State Stars at Goble Park on Saturday afternoon.

The result also confirmed the relegation of Free State Stars to National First Division (NFD) after 12 years in the PSL, while Maritzburg United will contest the promotion-relegation playoffs with Royal Eagles and Tshakhuma Tsha Madzivhandila.

Sundowns, who were playing in their 50th match of the season in all competitions since August, ended their campaign with 59 points, two points ahead of second-placed Orlando Pirates.

Sundowns have now won nine Premier Soccer League (PSL) titles.

This was also a fourth League title for coach Pitso Mosimane who has now joined the likes of Gordon Igesund, Ted Dumitru and Gavin Hunt who have achieved the same in the PSL.

There was another significant milestone for Sundowns as their captain Hlompho Kekana and goalkeeper Denis Onyango joined former Pirates winger Daine Klate as the three most decorated players in the PSL with six league titles on their names.


About The Author